Time 4 Transparency

Journey into the world of God's Model

The Candle That Burns February 19, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Jenelle Thompson @ 4:37 pm

Matthew 5:16
In the same way, let your light shine before men, that they may see your good deeds and praise your Father in heaven.



Last night I was burning some candles, two to be exact. One was a candle in a jar and the other was a free standing candle. As I watched the candles burn, I noticed the candle in the jar wasn’t as bright as the free standing candle. The jarred candle was a pretty green scented candle and the free standing one was a pink unscented candle. I looked back and forth between both candles. As I looked at them, it was very hard for me to tell whether the jarred candle was lit. Often times it looked as if the flame had gone out. Then I said to God: Lord, I never want to be the jarred candle. I never want anyone to question whether I am on fire for you or not. I never want there to be any doubt about the passion that I have for you.


As the scripture says, “…let your light shine before men, that they may see your good deeds and praise your Father in heaven.” Sure you may have a jarred candle moment, but whatever you have to do to keep fire going, do it. Many candle collectors/faithful burners tell you that you should always trim the wick after each use. If you don’t trim the wick, especially in a jar, a black ring, soot, builds up around the jar and leaves the jar dirty and stained. We can apply that to the spiritual as well. If we don’t allow God to trim the sin from our lives, we become dirty and stained. So how do we allow God to trim our “wick”. Constant prayer and repentance; devotion and meditation of His Word; worship and praise. But the most important thing is to stay in His presence and never think that your wick doesn’t need trimming.


Continue to let your light shine so that God will get the glory from your life.


Be Blessed!



HizRareJewl

 

Leave a comment